Kooper Barnes

CLASS: 2024

POSITIONS: 1B/LHP

HEIGHT: 5-9

WEIGHT: 130

BATS: L

THROWS: L

GPA: 4.0

ACT: NA

MAJOR: Undecided

HIGH SCHOOL: Lincoln East

CLUB TEAM: Nebraska Gold (#24)

HOMETOWN: Lincoln, NE

VIDEO

STATS

2018 CLUB: .441 BA, .527 OBP, .555 SLG
SKILLS: 53 mph fastball, 2.99 home-1st, 48 mph OH

EVALUATION

Kooper Barnes is a 2024 that will catch your attention. She’s an up and coming LHP that is developing nicely. At 53mph on the fastball, she tosses with good control and command and is able to hit her spots. With continued development in the circle as she continues to grow, she projects nicely and will earn some looks early. She is always smiling and loves to play. A kid with big dreams that come through in her demeanor on the field. Great attitude and an extraordinary teammate, with many other attributes that coaches love. She has sub 3 speed from the left side and hits with good contact as a gap style hitter. Right now, 1B is her primary spot but I fully expect those roles to shift as she develops in the circle. This kid will be on many radars and will make a excellent addition to any roster.
— Scott Woodcock, ScoutU Southeast Scout, for more information on Kooper text or call 423-255-3106, scott@ScoutU.org

MESSAGE FROM KOOPER

My name is Kooper Barnes, and I am a 2024 1B/LHP from Lincoln, NE.  I have been playing softball since I was 5 years old.  Softball has taught me to never give up on anything and to always work hard. I am a left-handed arm (53 mph fastball) and hitter, and I primarily play first base.  Aside from 1B, I play anywhere my coach and team need me and will always give 100%.  I am always working at improving my game skills and perfecting my swing.  I am also working very hard to improve on my speed and to strengthen my body. I am learning to be a leader on the field and amongst my teammates and need to ensure I work hard all the time. My goal in softball is to play at the college level.  I dream of it! I work very hard with my competitive team, the Nebraska Gold and will on my high school team when I start next year as a 8th grader, so that I can reach my overall goal. I work just as hard in school as I do on the field.  In college, I don’t know what I would want to do just yet but I know that my education is most important.

When I am not practicing, I enjoy my time with my friends and family. I would definitely not be where I am today if it wasn’t for my family, coaches and my teammates.  My parents do so much for me! My mom makes me a better player, because I look up to her and she pushes me to reach my goals. My parents are always helping me when I want to get some work in, even when they don’t want to or had a long day.

I am a good teammate, and I work hard, so I appreciate you taking the time to learn more about me. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

ACADEMICS AND OTHER ACTIVITIES

GPA: 4.0
ACT: NA
Class rank: NA