ISAIAH ARMSTRONG

CLASS: 2023

HEIGHT: 5-7

WEIGHT: 125

THROWS: Right

GPA: 3.40

ACT: NA

MAJOR: Chemical engineering

HIGH SCHOOL: Greenfield

HOMETOWN: Greenfield, WI

VIDEO

STATS

FRESHMAN (GREENFIELD H.S.): 198 average, 84% fill rate, 279 high game, 738 high series

SOPHOMORE (GREENFIELD H.S.): 200 average, 87% fill rate, 287 high game, 758 high series

ATHLETIC HONORS

SOPHOMORE (GREENFIELD H.S.)
21st out of 97 at Wisconsin State Meet (183-203-217 — 603; 169-203-177 — 549)
Honorable Mention All-District
Wisconsin State Meet qualifier (1 of 14 in district)

FRESHMAN (GREENFIELD H.S.)
District 1 Wisconsin High School Bowling Club Honorable Mention
State Tournament qualifier (first bowler ever from Greenfield High School)
1 of 3 freshman to qualify for Wisconsin High School State Tournament
1 of 16 and only freshman from his division to qualify for Wisconsin High School State Tournament in singles
Finished 47th out of 100 at Wisconsin High School State Tournament
Anchor of varsity team

evaluations

5-foot-6, 115 pounds. Right-handed bowler. Very good all-around athlete (also plays baseball and boys volleyball). Started bowling at a very young age and continues to progress year by year. Had 200 average, 87% fill rate and was his team’s anchor as a sophomore, finishing 21st out of 97 bowlers at the Wisconsin State Meet. From his 8th-grade year to his freshman year, he improved his average by 25 pins (198 average, 84.2% fill rate). Was the anchor his freshman year at Greenfield H. S. and became the school’s first ever qualifier for the Wisconsin High School State Tournament. 1 of 3 freshman in the state to qualify for state. Great work ethic at the bowling alley and in the classroom (3.40 GPA). Has potential to contend for a state championship in the next 2 years. Very coachable student-athlete who has a desire to get a great education and bowl for 4 years at the next level.
— Jason Lauren, ScoutU Scout, 414-303-7607, Jason@ScoutU.com

In his freshman year, Isaiah, a right-handed, one-handed bowler, achieved an 85% fill rate which was good for 16th in WHSBC District 1 and qualified for the singles portion of the state tournament. Isaiah did not make the second cut for the state tournament, but the experience is invaluable. Isaiah primarily bowled in the anchor position on his team, which finished second in the East Division. Isaiah is a very accurate bowler. His first ball target percentage was over 90%. Isaiah was very accepting of being coached and as we worked on a couple of items to incorporate into his game, he worked diligently to master them. He was a very good teammate, always there for his teammates in good and bad times. As a freshman, he fell into line very well and was never a problem for the coaches or team captain. His strength at this point is playing straighter and up the boards with extreme accuracy. His demeanor and personality are also a plus. He never seems to get too wound up — he keeps the highs low and the lows high. 

Isaiah needs to work on some items (and as a freshman he has time). He needs to work on his hand positions — staying inside the ball to be able to play inside when the lanes break down. I would think Isaiah will get bigger and stronger and this will aid in that. Continuing to work on drills to strengthen this part of his game will help also. Understanding and working on his leverage is another item we are working on. Using his legs is paramount in getting the power game implemented into his game.

I see nothing but good things for Isaiah, as he continues to excel in the high school bowling arena. Isaiah is also an all-star in the classroom with over a 3.37 GPA and only going up. He will only be a benefit to a college bowling program on and off the lanes.
— Brett Pinnecker, Greenfield H.S. coach

MESSAGE FROM ISAIAH

My name is Isaiah Armstrong, and I am a 2023 Greenfield High School graduate, in Wisconsin. I am a right-handed bowler, and during my sophomore year I finished with an average of 200 and finished 21st out of 97 bowlers at the Wisconsin State Meet. My high game was 287, my high series was 758, and I had an 87% fill rate. As a freshman, I was 1 of 3 freshman to qualify for the State Meet and had a 198 average. I was my team’s anchor in both my freshman and sophomore years. I have a 3.40 GPA and my desired college major is engineering.

I began bowling at the age of 3 or 4 years old. It started as going for fun and quickly turned into something that I wanted to be more serious about.  I’ve been in bowling leagues and participated in several local bowling tournaments since I was 7 years old and have improved year to year.  In 2017, I was part of a four-man team that placed first in Division 1 of the USBC Milwaukee City Tournament.  In my 2018 season, I placed second in Division 1 singles of the USBC Milwaukee City Tournament. In 2019, I placed first at the Wisconsin Youth state tournament in the 161-190 average division. 

I have a strong passion for bowling and want to continue to work hard and take my bowling skills to the next level. I have always been a sports fanatic and currently also play baseball, boys volleyball and run track. 

Thank you for taking the time to read my message. My goal as a college student-athlete is to represent myself and my school on and off the lanes to the highest standard.

ACADEMICS AND OTHER ACTIVITIES

GPA: 3.40
ACT: NA
Enrollment: 1,176
Other sports: Volleyball, baseball

SCHEDULE

1/13 at Classic Lanes – Greenfield (3:45 pm)
1/14 at Classic Lanes – Oak Creek (3:45 pm)
1/16 at Classic Lanes – Greenfield (12 pm)
1/21 at Classic Lanes – Oak Creek (3:45 pm)
1/23 at Classic Lanes – Oak Creek (12 pm)
3/5-7 State Meet (TBD)